Francesco Galli
Francesco Galli
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:49
English to Italian
+ ...
Jun 4, 2017

Dear fellow subtitlers,

I need to encode a subtitling .srt file into an .mpg file. The .srt file comes from the tool Swift that I used back in the day when I was a student at Leeds University. I stupidly never downloaded the video with the subtitles embedded and that is why I now need to encode them in the video for professional reasons. The .srt file, however, is not like the ones you can find online for movies, but it shows also time-in and time-out captions. For example:
... See more
Dear fellow subtitlers,

I need to encode a subtitling .srt file into an .mpg file. The .srt file comes from the tool Swift that I used back in the day when I was a student at Leeds University. I stupidly never downloaded the video with the subtitles embedded and that is why I now need to encode them in the video for professional reasons. The .srt file, however, is not like the ones you can find online for movies, but it shows also time-in and time-out captions. For example:

SUBTITLE: [1] TIMEIN: 10:00:48:16 DURATION: 05:15 TIMEOUT: 10:00:54:06
Exceptional Journey
through the Human Body.

Of course, VLC cannot read such a file. What options do I have? Is there an option on Swift that allows the use to either embed subtitles on a video and download said video as a single file or to download the subtitling file as if it were taken from any fansubbing website on the internet and use it with VLC?

Thanks a lot for any help you can provide.
Collapse

José Henrique Lamensdorf
José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 14:49
English to Portuguese
+ ...
In memoriam
The SRT format Jun 4, 2017

Ciao, Francesco,

According to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SubRip , the SRT file format should be like this:

1. A numeric counter identifying each sequential subtitle
2. The time that the subtitle should appear on the screen, followed by --> and the time it should disappear