Thread poster: Ata Arif
Ata Arif
Ata Arif  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 19:36
Kurdish to English
+ ...
May 17, 2015

An agency asked me for references and I explained that I have been a translator for so many years so my Proz.com WWA feedback and my membership of professional bodies should be alright but still they insist that their protocol is such and they ask for 2 references. I do not mind providing professional bodies with references but I usually do not like to ask an agency to provide reference for me for another similar agency.
what do you think?

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Tell them what to do with their protocol May 17, 2015

They clearly have no understanding of their business so you're better off not working with them. Those WWA entries ARE references/testimonials anyway! If they want employer references then they'll need to employ an employee.

brg (X)
brg (X)
Netherlands
Ask them for their references May 17, 2015

Name + phone number.

Dan Lucas
Dan Lucas  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2014)
Japanese to English
Give references, lose clients May 17, 2015

Ata Arif wrote:
An agency asked me for references

Consider what would happen if you apply to 20 agencies - on the assumption that you have to kiss a lot of frogs to find even a few princes - and those agencies all ask for references from existing clients, which you give them.

If all those agencies follow up those references, your existing clients are going to get bombarded with emails for references to one person: you. That's a complete waste of your clients' time and likely a major irritant for them, with YOU being the locus of that annoyance.

How long do you think they will remain your clients?