Thread poster: Marina Diaponon
Marina Diaponon
Marina Diaponon
Cote D'ivoire
Local time: 10:15
English to French
Dec 11, 2015

Hi fellow translators

I'm having a real problem,I been offered a job to translate 1000 titles of movies/week for 80 $ each 1k
I accepted it but now i think the price is really not so much, i use too much time to translate them. Either way i'm gonna finish the first wave but i mean to ask what will be the actual price since i'm a beginner and this is my first job, or maybe the price is reasonable and i'm just too slow.
Thanks for the help.
PS: Theses titles together
... See more
Hi fellow translators

I'm having a real problem,I been offered a job to translate 1000 titles of movies/week for 80 $ each 1k
I accepted it but now i think the price is really not so much, i use too much time to translate them. Either way i'm gonna finish the first wave but i mean to ask what will be the actual price since i'm a beginner and this is my first job, or maybe the price is reasonable and i'm just too slow.
Thanks for the help.
PS: Theses titles together are about 5000 word

[Edited at 2015-12-11 15:20 GMT]
Collapse

Joakim Braun
Joakim Braun  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 12:15
German to Swedish
+ ...
Ripoff Dec 11, 2015

$80 for 1,000 subtitles = $0.08 per subtitle.

10-15 years ago I used to do 20 minute programs with about 200-230 subtitles.
That used to take me 2-3 hours.
With your fee, I would have made $18.
I think I made 5 to 8 times as much as you're making today.

(The work involved was:

• Watching the program and marking subtitle divisions on a script printout

• Translation from script according to subtitle division

• ... See more

10-15 years ago I used to do 20 minute programs with about 200-230 subtitles.
That used to take me 2-3 hours.
With your fee, I would have made $18.
I think I made 5 to 8 times as much as you're making today.

(The work involved was:

• Watching the program and marking subtitle divisions on a script printout