Getting Google to delete misleading search engine content posted by an agency
Thread poster: Juliaq
Juliaq
Juliaq
Netherlands
Jan 14, 2016

Hello!

I Google myself sometimes, to make sure I haven't appeared tagged in any public photos for example, and this time... I found myself appearing on the website of an agency.

I did register with them a while ago, but never signed any terms stating that they could post any information about me publicly. The information includes incorrect and misleading elements, for example, stating that I have a Master's degree in translation, when in fact this is not the degree I ha
... See more
Hello!

I Google myself sometimes, to make sure I haven't appeared tagged in any public photos for example, and this time... I found myself appearing on the website of an agency.

I did register with them a while ago, but never signed any terms stating that they could post any information about me publicly. The information includes incorrect and misleading elements, for example, stating that I have a Master's degree in translation, when in fact this is not the degree I have. I certainly did not provide such incorrect information when I registered with them. They also have posted my language pairs mixed up!

This seems to have the potential to be very bad for my professional reputation, clients might for example, think that I change my language pairs and the information I provide to different clients, as well as privacy concerns for me, I am not pleased that they also provide my current location (at least not my exact address ! in search results anyone can see.

I contacted the agency requesting them to remove me and my information from their system, stating that they had published incorrect info I did not provide them with! It took them a few weeks to answer, and they have finally removed it, and the links that appear in Google search results lead to the home page of the agency.