Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Is it acceptable that a client lowers an already set rate?
Thread poster: Patricia Ballesteros Menéndez
Patricia Ballesteros Menéndez
Patricia Ballesteros Menéndez
Spain
German to Spanish
+ ...
Feb 11, 2016

Dear colleagues,

I have a client for which I have been working now for two years. It is a medium-sized agency, and they have recently asked me to lower my rate, as they claim to have renegotiated their own rates with end clients. This rate was agreed when we started our collaboration, and I can say it is not astronomically high, so I am not willing to accept this new condition; after all, I have not risen my rate for them in all this time, why should they have the right to decrease
... See more
Dear colleagues,

I have a client for which I have been working now for two years. It is a medium-sized agency, and they have recently asked me to lower my rate, as they claim to have renegotiated their own rates with end clients. This rate was agreed when we started our collaboration, and I can say it is not astronomically high, so I am not willing to accept this new condition; after all, I have not risen my rate for them in all this time, why should they have the right to decrease it?

I have the impression that this is not the usual procedure in our business, or at least not an ethical procedure, but I would like to know your opinion.

What do you think about this?

[Editado a las 2016-02-11 01:31 GMT]
Collapse

Bernhard Sulzer
Bernhard Sulzer  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 15:16
English to German
+ ...
Mirror, mirror Feb 11, 2016

Patricia Ballesteros Menéndez wrote:

Dear colleagues,

I have a client for which I have been working now for two years. It is a medium-sized agency, and they have recently asked me to lower my rate, as they claim to have renegotiated their own rates with end clients. This rate was agreed when we started our collaboration, and I can say it is not astronomically high.