Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Outsourcer threatens and refuses/disputes payment - What shall I do?
Thread poster: Natascha Gruver
Natascha Gruver
Natascha Gruver
Austria
Local time: 09:06
German to English
+ ...
Apr 8, 2016

Dear Proz.Com translator community!

I am new to the business, and it seems, I have stepped into some unpleasant traps:
May I ask for your feedback and advice on this case - perhaps you experienced similar?

1. I started to work for an outsourcer with a small project (area: technical translation)
As this went well, the outsourcer assigned me a bigger one, informally in an email.
I requested a formal PO, to specify and confirm the service and rate.
... See more
Dear Proz.Com translator community!

I am new to the business, and it seems, I have stepped into some unpleasant traps:
May I ask for your feedback and advice on this case - perhaps you experienced similar?

1. I started to work for an outsourcer with a small project (area: technical translation)
As this went well, the outsourcer assigned me a bigger one, informally in an email.
I requested a formal PO, to specify and confirm the service and rate.
The outsourcer replied, I shall start (without sending a PO).
Since I am new to the business, I didn't want to lose this assignment and client, so I started, this job:
a technical translation of about 30.000 words for a low rate of 0.49 eurocents per source word, being aware that the community min. rate is 0.08, cents, but again, I wanted to build up business momentum and so accepted to work for this low rate.