what type of agreement this agency wants to offer me?
Thread poster: ocedeutsch
ocedeutsch
ocedeutsch
Spain
Jun 2, 2016

Hello everyone!

Firstly, let me say that I am totally new in the translation world. I was given an offer from a translation agency. They told me that they would pay me per word and I should give them a rate. If my rate meets their budget they would assure me an amount of at least 16.000 words per month during a year.

In order to give them a rate I told them that I have to know beforehand what type of contract I'd be given or If I would have to register myself as a free
... See more
Hello everyone!

Firstly, let me say that I am totally new in the translation world. I was given an offer from a translation agency. They told me that they would pay me per word and I should give them a rate. If my rate meets their budget they would assure me an amount of at least 16.000 words per month during a year.

In order to give them a rate I told them that I have to know beforehand what type of contract I'd be given or If I would have to register myself as a freelancer.

The response was that we would make an agreement, that I wouldn't have to register myself as a freelancer and that they do not pay taxes to their translators since their headquarters are in Scotland.

Well, let me honestly admit that I didn't understand the answer given and that I still don't know whether I have to pay taxes or not.

I am at the moment living in Germany as a student so I am not registered here as freelancer either.

As exposed I am a newbie in this world, could you please help me?

[Edited at 2016-06-02 17:14 GMT]
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 21:11
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
We all have to start somewhere and you've come to the right place for advice. Jun 2, 2016

ocedeutsch wrote:
If my rate meets their budget they would assure me an amount of at least 16.000 words per month during a year.