Samurailady
Samurailady
Egypt
Local time: 16:05
English to Arabic
+ ...
Sep 14, 2016

Hi All,

Regarding my previous post for translator agreement. I just want to ask a quick question.
How does it really work for independent freelancer translators, do they sign a SLA for every agency they work for ? or they work freely without signing anything?
So if you want to work with difference agencies, do you sign a SLA for each one?
Kindly tell me how it works.

have a nice day

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 15:05
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
It seems to vary enormously Sep 14, 2016

Samurailady wrote:
How does it really work for independent freelancer translators, do they sign a SLA for every agency they work for ? or they work freely without signing anything?

It's clear from discussions here that some translators sign wads of SLAs and NDAs, and some never start work without a PO either.

I've been freelancing for 20 years, starting with teaching and slowly switching to translating/revising starting in 2007. I've signed agreements with no more than 10 clients in that time, and I've received POs from even fewer. During that time, I've worked with clients in 31 countries spread over several continents. My recent statistics show that I've collaborated with 58 different clients since May 2012, including 19 translation agencies. I've never been scammed (fingers firmly crossed) and have only lost money due to two client bankruptcies, where no contract in the world would have seen me paid. I had to take a client to court once; one of the few who'd had me sign an SLA. Unfortunately, the SLA included a clause that seemed to justify non-payment in the circumstances. Fortunately, the judge ruled that clause abusive and awarded me costs.

So I think it's very much up to you and your suppliers and/or clients. Remember that in most jurisdictions around the world (maybe all ???) emails between two parties can constitute a contract.

Samurailady