A translator at ProZ posts jobs as outsourcer on other platform, is this OK??
Thread poster: Frank Feng
Frank Feng
Frank Feng  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 06:07
Member (2016)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Sep 24, 2016

Hello experts and fellow translators,

I'm a translator recently registered at ProZ. I have a situation and need to hear about your suggestions. Thank you in advance!

I take some of my translation jobs at a freelancer's platform, where I got a small job in early Sept. I did it and got paid, nothing wrong. Today, I noticed another job post from the same outsourcer whom I did the job for, I checked it and noticed the file to be translated is obviously some test translati
... See more
Hello experts and fellow translators,

I'm a translator recently registered at ProZ. I have a situation and need to hear about your suggestions. Thank you in advance!

I take some of my translation jobs at a freelancer's platform, where I got a small job in early Sept. I did it and got paid, nothing wrong. Today, I noticed another job post from the same outsourcer whom I did the job for, I checked it and noticed the file to be translated is obviously some test translation job for translators - it contains 4 sections labeled as "General", "Legal", "Manufacturing" and "Technical", totally about 1,000 words. The outsourcer said nothing about "test job" or "sub contract" in the job post, just "I need the attached file translated. please let me know your fix price and delivering time."

I got curious and searched the outsourcer's name and found a translator's profile here at ProZ, which claims the credential and translation service in the same language pair as the jobs posted on the freelancer's platform I mentioned. I checked the outsourcer's history of job posting, there are dozens of translation jobs. Most of the jobs are small ones priced lower than $40 or $10/hr. (you can see the cost of finished jobs on that platform)