Greek agency requiring tax documentation in order not to withhold 20% of invoice total
Thread poster: Paris Brooker
Paris Brooker
Paris Brooker  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 23:32
Turkish to English
Oct 18, 2016

Hi,

I just want to see if others have come across this.

I've done some work with a Greek agency who are claiming that unless I can produce documentation indicating the fact I'm a resident of the country in which I'm working and that I'm entitled to benefit from double taxation agreements (both of which need to be signed by the tax authorities), the agency, according to Greek taxation law, are required to withhold 20% of the invoice total.

Michael Beijer
Michael Beijer  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2009)
Dutch to English
+ ...
Steer clear!!! Oct 18, 2016

Paris2083 wrote:

Hi,

I just want to see if others have come across this.

I've done some work with a Greek agency who are claiming that unless I can produce documentation indicating the fact I'm a resident of the country in which I'm working and that I'm entitled to benefit from double taxation agreements (both of which need to be signed by the tax authorities), the agency, according to Greek taxation law, are required to withhold 20% of the invoice total.

Yes, I have worked for them in the past too and the amount of paperwork they require is ridiculous. I've worked for so many different translation agencies over the years that I've lost count, but not one of them required me to get a form from HMRC to prove that I am a tax resident here in the UK. Obtaining the form took several hours on the phone with HMRC and several months of waiting for it to be posted to me, and, you'd need to renew the form every year in order to work for this company. Steer clear, a complete waste of your time.

Michael

[Edited at 2016-10-18 12:43 GMT]

Paris Brooker
Paris Brooker  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Turkish to English
TOPIC STARTER
Is it the case for all Greek agencies? Oct 18, 2016