https://www.proz.com/forum/business_issues/331681-contract_for_set_volume_of_translation.html

Contract for set volume of translation
Thread poster: Charlotte Revill
Charlotte Revill
Charlotte Revill  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 15:01
English to French
+ ...
Jan 10, 2019

Hi everyone

One of my clients has asked for a contract for a set, yearly volume of translation.

I am relatively new to freelancing and have never come across this before. The client wants me to provide the contract, but I don't really know how to go about it, as I usually just provide normal quotes. I know the company well and like working with them, but the work won't be regular over the year, so I couldn't set aside regular blocks of time for them. At the same time t
... See more
Hi everyone

One of my clients has asked for a contract for a set, yearly volume of translation.

I am relatively new to freelancing and have never come across this before. The client wants me to provide the contract, but I don't really know how to go about it, as I usually just provide normal quotes. I know the company well and like working with them, but the work won't be regular over the year, so I couldn't set aside regular blocks of time for them. At the same time their jobs are too big to just slot in if I'm already fully booked.

My question is, has anyone ever signed such a contract and are there any "standard" clauses that I should include? I guess turnaround time, minimum / maximum volume of translation, payment conditions... I do have some legal knowledge but there's no way I can take a blank document and start writing a contract!

Thank you.
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 14:01
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Why? Jan 10, 2019