Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Can you wait a year or more before sending the invoice?
Thread poster: Mikel Telleria Mujika
Mikel Telleria Mujika
Mikel Telleria Mujika  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 00:32
Basque to English
+ ...
Sep 18, 2019

Hi all,

I have been translating for over 3 years and things are going pretty well. However, I have received a scholarship from the government with really good conditions for a 18 month internship. The only problem is that it contractually requires me not to do any other kind of activity. I wouldn't want to stop translating now, I don't see why I shouldn't be able to work a few extra hours during weekends after working at the office Mon to Fri, nothing unethical about that.
... See more
Hi all,

I have been translating for over 3 years and things are going pretty well. However, I have received a scholarship from the government with really good conditions for a 18 month internship. The only problem is that it contractually requires me not to do any other kind of activity. I wouldn't want to stop translating now, I don't see why I shouldn't be able to work a few extra hours during weekends after working at the office Mon to Fri, nothing unethical about that.

My question is, would it possible to continue working as usual for the same customers during 2020 and delay invoicing until mid 2021? would that create them problems?
of course, I am going to ask them as well, but I wanted to hear what other translators have to say first.
and if not, is there any other way to do that?

thanks for your answers.
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 23:32
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
Ethics Sep 18, 2019

Mikel Telleria Mujika wrote:it contractually requires me not to do any other kind of activity. I wouldn't want to stop translating now, I don't see why I shouldn't be able to work a few extra hours during weekends after working at the office Mon to Fri, nothing unethical about that.