Maria Teresa Pozzi
Maria Teresa Pozzi  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 09:59
German to Italian
+ ...
Dec 27, 2012

Dear all,

I wanted to have your opinion on the quality of machine translation for the language pair German>Italian.

writeaway
writeaway  Identity Verified
French to English
+ ...
Quality of machine translation?? Dec 27, 2012

Imo that in itself is a contradiction in terms

Heinrich Pesch
Heinrich Pesch  Identity Verified
Finland
Local time: 10:59
Member (2003)
Finnish to German
+ ...
Probably better than for German as target Dec 27, 2012

The German verb is a major obstacle for MT. In many cases it comes up with two or three verbs at the end of the sentence. So probably Italian is easier. but I have no real knowledge.
I'm sometimes surprised how well MT translates, and it is certainly more helpful than a dictionary alone.

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 08:59
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Quality? Dec 27, 2012

I noticed that you have recently attended a course on Machine Translation, what were your impressions? Why are you posing the question? For my part, I will not touch machine translation for several reasons and, alike Writeaway, I think that putting the words quality and machine translation in one sentence would shiver the bones of many a linguist...

[Edited at 2012-12-27 14:38 GMT]

Steven Segaert
Steven Segaert
Estonia
Local time: 10:59
Member (2012)
English to Dutch
+ ...
Use your experience Dec 27, 2012

In my primary language pair (English to Dutch), machine translation can be useful for certain types of text. I sometimes get quite good suggestions out of it, but the grammar is almost always wrong. In other words, machine translation, to me, is a tool that I can use in certain circumstances.