Inflected forms in glossary/dictionary help (ru)
Thread poster: kGRussian (X)
kGRussian (X)
kGRussian (X)
United States
Jul 2, 2019

Hello, I'm new to using OmegaT. I've got the basics down, but I'm not sure about how to use the glossary and dictionary functions when it comes to different forms of the same word. Since I mainly use it for translating Russian, I'm not sure how I can set up the dictionary/glossary to find different forms of the same word.
With the dictionary I have now, it will only show me the dictionary form of the word, rather than the declined form in the text (eg мочь shows up fine but мог�
... See more
Hello, I'm new to using OmegaT. I've got the basics down, but I'm not sure about how to use the glossary and dictionary functions when it comes to different forms of the same word. Since I mainly use it for translating Russian, I'm not sure how I can set up the dictionary/glossary to find different forms of the same word.
With the dictionary I have now, it will only show me the dictionary form of the word, rather than the declined form in the text (eg мочь shows up fine but могу/можешь etc. come up blank, same with охот and охоте/охота etc.).
Is there any way to work around this? I was thinking that the easiest way to solve this would be if I could search within the imported dictionary, but I haven't found a way to do that yet.

Thanks
Collapse

Susan Welsh
Susan Welsh  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 07:51
Russian to English
+ ...
What version of OmegaT are you using? Jul 2, 2019

Here's how it should look in 4.2.0, the latest version of OmegaT, and other more recent versions:

tokenizers

The screen I've shown is Project Properties (Ctrl+E)

Tokenizers are not perfect. Forms of a word that are quite different in spelling from the "dictionary" form don't always pick up the glossary or dictionary entry. I tried мочь and it didn't pick up может.

[Edited at 2019-07-02 11:48 GMT]

[Edited at 2019-07-02 11:53 GMT]

kGRussian (X)