Thread poster: Akihiko Takeda
Akihiko Takeda
Akihiko Takeda  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 23:02
English to Japanese
+ ...
Oct 24, 2018

I’m relatively new at on line translation field. I translated individually for business company or hired at corporate for 2 years. Since I joined proz.com on September 30, 2018, my primary question is about CAT tools or MT or TM. I realized several types of CAT tools, one of which looks TOLADOS as a primary tool, are available.

Most of outsourcers designate some CAT tools for translator’s qualification to their job. I’ve never used those tools but its necessities are imminent
... See more
I’m relatively new at on line translation field. I translated individually for business company or hired at corporate for 2 years. Since I joined proz.com on September 30, 2018, my primary question is about CAT tools or MT or TM. I realized several types of CAT tools, one of which looks TOLADOS as a primary tool, are available.

Most of outsourcers designate some CAT tools for translator’s qualification to their job. I’ve never used those tools but its necessities are imminent for sure.

Here are my questions:
1. Is it absolutely necessary to buy and learn some CAT tool?
2. If so, which CAT tool software is must (or the most recommended)?
3. What CAT tool software are secondary and thirdly must ?
4. What is the best way to learn each CAT software as a crash course?

You might be amazed how fundamental those questions are but I think I have to clarify one of my directions about CAT tools. Your input and help are greatly appreciated.

Aki Takeda
Collapse

Paula Graf

Paula Graf
Paula Graf  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 04:02
Member (2018)
German to Portuguese
+ ...
CAT tools Oct 24, 2018

Hello.
I work with Worfast Anywhere, because it´s free.
Sometimes I work with Trados and MemoQ but is just when the clients want that and they give me a licence only for their jobs.
The most jobs I translate with no tools at all.