тараканье молоко - coackroach milk
Thread poster: Elisa Comito
Elisa Comito
Elisa Comito  Identity Verified
Local time: 04:55
English to Italian
+ ...
Dec 28, 2010

Hello to everybody. Sorry if I write in English but I don't know Russian.
I am a literary translator and in an American novel which takes place in Russia (http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2009/mar/15/russian-dreambook-gina-ochsner), full of references to Russian (and Russian minorities') culture, I found this sentence (a woman is telling a story to her chi
... See more
Hello to everybody. Sorry if I write in English but I don't know Russian.
I am a literary translator and in an American novel which takes place in Russia (http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/2009/mar/15/russian-dreambook-gina-ochsner), full of references to Russian (and Russian minorities') culture, I found this sentence (a woman is telling a story to her child):

"in the good times when matzoh still fell from the sky and men lay about up their elbows in cockroach milk..."

I would like to understand if the expression "lay in coackroack milk" means to lay lazily, while waiting for goods to come from the sky, or if it has other meanings.

In my researches (unfortunately limited due to language limitations) the only reference I found is to this story of Buhtan Buhtanovic:

http://www.hobbitaniya.ru/afanasyev/afanasyev101.php

I am very intrigued by this expression as we have nothing similiar. Does anybody know where the idea of "coackroach milk" came from?

Is it true, as I found through other resarches, that in Russia traditonally coackroaches (tarakan) are considered lucky animals, and almost domestic animals?

Thanks for your attention,

Elisa

P.S. You can answer me in English, Italian, French, Romanian.
Collapse

Nikolai Muraviev
Nikolai Muraviev  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 05:55
English to Russian
+ ...
Never heard before... Dec 28, 2010