Thread poster: Emma Sharp
Emma Sharp
Emma Sharp
Canada
Local time: 07:10
French to English
+ ...
Aug 18, 2019

Hello, I am new to ProZ and was contacted very quickly (despite my lack of experience and of credentials) by a woman named Jeniffer B. (last name omitted for privacy). Her first email furnished me with almost no information except for her name, her email address and her need for an English-French translation. I replied quickly, asking her to give me a document type, length, etc. as well as reminding her to take a look at my profile for my rates. I was very happy to receive some attention despite... See more
Hello, I am new to ProZ and was contacted very quickly (despite my lack of experience and of credentials) by a woman named Jeniffer B. (last name omitted for privacy). Her first email furnished me with almost no information except for her name, her email address and her need for an English-French translation. I replied quickly, asking her to give me a document type, length, etc. as well as reminding her to take a look at my profile for my rates. I was very happy to receive some attention despite my inexperience so I didn't pay attention to the "sketchiness".

I just received her response this morning: 15 600 words in the body of her email, the text to translate I imagine. No greeting, no answer to my questions, not even a title to the text. I was confused, so I fed a few lines of the text into Google and found that the text was actually a book named "The Search for Philip K. Dick" by Anne R. Dick. The book was published by Tachyon Publishing, but they do not have anyone named Jeniffer B. listed in their staff online.

I answered her today, telling her I might need a lot of time to translate such a big document, outlining the total cost and proposing an advance payment at a certain degree of completion. I tagged this onto the end of my email: