Thread poster: Lia Fail (X)
Lia Fail (X)
Lia Fail (X)  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 09:09
Spanish to English
+ ...
Feb 7, 2004

I have just cleaned up in Trados to find that 12 of the 17 pages I translated have dispapeared.

I am still learning to adapt to Trados, so often manually correct problems with end of unit tags manually, but this has never happened before.

Does anybody know how/where I can recover my hard days' work?

Even redoing 500 first draft words is depressing, never mind the third draft of something lkike 2000 words.

TIA:-)

Graciela Carlyle
Graciela Carlyle  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:09
English to Spanish
+ ...
not a solution but... Feb 7, 2004

Hi Ailish,

I really don't know how to recover your lost work for sure but there are some points that might help:
1. Trados should do a backup copy of the uncleaned document just before cleaning. So look for some .bak copy (generally in the same folder of the document you're working on)
2. No matter whether it does or not, you should always make a copy before clean up (now you know why!!)
3. Your TM is loaded with all the TUs so re-doing the lost bit should take onl
... See more
Hi Ailish,

I really don't know how to recover your lost work for sure but there are some points that might help:
1. Trados should do a backup copy of the uncleaned document just before cleaning. So look for some .bak copy (generally in the same folder of the document you're working on)
2. No matter whether it does or not, you should always make a copy before clean up (now you know why!!)
3. Your TM is loaded with all the TUs so re-doing the lost bit should take only a few minutes as you should get all 100% matches.

Hope you can sort it out!!
Grace.

[Edited at 2004-02-07 00:16]
Collapse

Lia Fail (X)
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
BAK copy is identical Feb 7, 2004