https://www.proz.com/forum/sdl_trados_support/20158-trados_65_how_necessary_is_it_for_someone_beginning_in_the_field.html

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Trados 6.5 - how necessary is it for someone beginning in the field?
Thread poster: Greenwood
Greenwood
Greenwood
Spanish to English
Apr 7, 2004

I am new to the worlds of both translation and computers. I see many references to Trados 6.5. I understand only that this is a translation tool program. How necessary is it for someone beginning in the field? I would very much appreciate it if someone could tell me the basic functions of this program.

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 18:31
English to German
+ ...
A few links Apr 7, 2004

Hi Greenwood,
Welcom to ProZ.com.

Trados is one of the tools commonly referred to as "CAT tools" (CAT = computer-aided translation). This is not machine translation, but refers to tools which can support the translation process - in very simplified terms, an extension to a translator's memory.

One point to start researching is the CAT Center right here at ProZ.com (Tools - CAT Center).

HTH, Ralf

Harvetta Asamoah
Harvetta Asamoah  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:31
French to English
+ ...
A Very Useful Memory Tool Apr 7, 2004

I would not say that it is an essential tool for a beginner, but I recently started using it and it is a fantastic tool for creating your own databases and for using databases created by others. Demos can be downloaded from the Trados website, which I highly recommend.

Of course, you can start translating without using Trados. I recommend it if you have enough work to justify the expense. When I started translating, I simply used the Word advanced search feature and my own and ot
... See more