Berni Armstrong
Berni Armstrong  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 06:44
English
+ ...
Jul 12, 2004

Hi all,

I am new to the wonderful world of Trados. I installed a demo version of 6.5 at the weekend, but if I understand the tutorial right, I should also have installed Multi-term or I will not be able to create and manage TMs. Is that right? Or have I misunderstood some basic concept here?

I am NOT installing 6.5 on top of 5.5, but 5.5 is the only option I am given when attempting to set up the Terminology Recognition Options in "Options" on Workbench. (as per inst
... See more
Hi all,

I am new to the wonderful world of Trados. I installed a demo version of 6.5 at the weekend, but if I understand the tutorial right, I should also have installed Multi-term or I will not be able to create and manage TMs. Is that right? Or have I misunderstood some basic concept here?

I am NOT installing 6.5 on top of 5.5, but 5.5 is the only option I am given when attempting to set up the Terminology Recognition Options in "Options" on Workbench. (as per instructions on the tutorial).

When I attempt to "Browse" to "Termbase recognition location", I cannot seem to find any directory that has an appropriate file. So I don't know whether I can proceed to the next stage and just ignore this, or whether it simply won't work if I don't have the missing component.

Would appreciate any help you might offer,

Thanks,

Berni (Trados novice)
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
English to German
+ ...
Yes, but you need to deactivate term recognition Jul 12, 2004

Hi Berni,
Generally, Workbench and MultiTerm are two separate pieces of software. They are, of course, closely related and can connect to each other, but they aren't mutually dependent.

'Fraid so - MultiTerm is for terminology; TMs are managed in Workbench.