Importing Excel 2003 to Trados MTiX 6.2.0.279
Thread poster: CELC Inc
CELC Inc
CELC Inc
Local time: 10:58
Japanese to English
+ ...
Jul 29, 2004

I am new to MTiX, and am confused about importing terminology databases from Excel.

I have read the MTiX manual, checked the Knowledge Base and Proz, and it seems that the assumption is that this should be a self-evident process because you use MultiTerm Convert. Well, it's not for me.

Perhaps the main thing I'm confused about is how to prepare my Excel file; with earlier versions of MultiTerm one had to prepare the terminology in an importable format:

**<
... See more
I am new to MTiX, and am confused about importing terminology databases from Excel.

I have read the MTiX manual, checked the Knowledge Base and Proz, and it seems that the assumption is that this should be a self-evident process because you use MultiTerm Convert. Well, it's not for me.

Perhaps the main thing I'm confused about is how to prepare my Excel file; with earlier versions of MultiTerm one had to prepare the terminology in an importable format:

TERM
TERM

But there is no mention of the need to do so in MTiX. I haven't, and would prefer not to if I could avoid it -- while merely a bilingual glossary provided by my client with nothing but two columns of terms, the file is of significant length.

I have had so many different errors I don't know where to start, but the long and short of it seems to be that even if I successfully create the XML file and the TermBase, I cannot import: I keep getting the "0 terms processed" message that threatens to rob me of my sanity.

Could somebody be so kind as to assume I know absolutely nothing about MultiTerm and how to prepare Excel files, and take me through the process step by step?

Thanks
Collapse

Vesna Zivcic
Vesna Zivcic  Identity Verified
Local time: 03:58
German to Croatian
+ ...
There are several threads where this topic has been discussed Jul 29, 2004

http://www.proz.com/post/151711#151711