Thread poster: Delinguaproz
Delinguaproz
Delinguaproz
Local time: 19:06
English to Finnish
+ ...
Jan 26, 2005

Dear all,

this is a beginner's Trados question probably, but since I'm a beginner with the use of the programm I allow myself such a stupid question:

How do I deal with a footnote? I'm translating a Word document and there are several footnotes. So I have for example footnote nr 1 in one segment, but when I try to insert a footnote in the translation, it makes footnote nr 2 out of it! Same happens even though I just ty to delete the number in the segment...

... See more
Dear all,

this is a beginner's Trados question probably, but since I'm a beginner with the use of the programm I allow myself such a stupid question:

How do I deal with a footnote? I'm translating a Word document and there are several footnotes. So I have for example footnote nr 1 in one segment, but when I try to insert a footnote in the translation, it makes footnote nr 2 out of it! Same happens even though I just ty to delete the number in the segment...

I'm afraid of messing up the whole numbering.

Thanks,
Katja
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 18:06
English to German
+ ...
Numbering "skip" is normal Jan 26, 2005

Hi Katja,
The (temporary) change in numbering is expected behaviour - after all, you're doubling the number of footnotes (source & target count separately). Don't try to remove the numbers - this will be reverted once you clean up the file.

On a general note, the handling of footnotes is described in the File Formats Reference Guide, which is available for download from <
... See more
Hi Katja,
The (temporary) change in numbering is expected behaviour - after all, you're doubling the number of footnotes (source & target count separately). Don't try to remove the numbers - this will be reverted once you clean up the file.