Thread poster: Marta Scott
Marta Scott
Marta Scott
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:39
French to English
May 18, 2018

Hi,

I've been using SDL Trados 2017 for a couple of months. I've emailed them about this issue but I need to solve this problem quickly as I've already wasted too much time.

This particular issue (there are others!) is that Trados seems to take a dislike to TMs at random.

To create my new project I did what I normally do. I converted a txt-format memory into tmx using Wordfast, to make it Trados-friendly. Then I tried to import the memory for my project bu
... See more
Hi,

I've been using SDL Trados 2017 for a couple of months. I've emailed them about this issue but I need to solve this problem quickly as I've already wasted too much time.

This particular issue (there are others!) is that Trados seems to take a dislike to TMs at random.

To create my new project I did what I normally do. I converted a txt-format memory into tmx using Wordfast, to make it Trados-friendly. Then I tried to import the memory for my project but an error message came up telling me that:

"&" is an unexpected token, ";" is the expected token

It gives me a line number in the memory but I don't see any line reference number in the txt format.

Really frustrated with Trados at this point! Any help would be most welcome, thank you.

(I can't see how to attach a screen shot here?)

Marta
Collapse

Jaime Oriard
Jaime Oriard  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 11:39
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Use Notepad++ to fix your TM May 18, 2018

Most likely your TM file is missing a ";" before an "&" at the location Trados tells you (line, column).

Use Notepad++ or any other advanced text editor to navigate to that location. Line means the paragraph number (e.g. 20th paragraph , or 1549th paragraph), and column means the character number in that paragraph, including spaces.