Advice needed: which PC features should I look for when buying?
Thread poster: Aurélie Geldof-Eke
Aurélie Geldof-Eke
Aurélie Geldof-Eke  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:57
English to French
Jan 10, 2014

Hello,

Although I am only a student, I am looking into buying a new machine (PC with windows).

I don't know computers very well and I am simply wondering which features to look for when buying to make sure that the machine will cope with potential translation software I will buy in the next few years.

I guess I need to look out for RAM, memory and processor but this is all Greek to me.
So if anyone can give me some advice, I would really appreciat
... See more
Hello,

Although I am only a student, I am looking into buying a new machine (PC with windows).

I don't know computers very well and I am simply wondering which features to look for when buying to make sure that the machine will cope with potential translation software I will buy in the next few years.

I guess I need to look out for RAM, memory and processor but this is all Greek to me.
So if anyone can give me some advice, I would really appreciate.

Thank you very much.

Aurélie

ps: I am looking into buying a desktop first. I'll update my laptop later.
Collapse

Recep Kurt
Recep Kurt  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 00:57
Member (2011)
English to Turkish
+ ...
My recommendation Jan 10, 2014

Hello Lily,

My basic recommendation would be to go for a Intel® Core™ i7 Processor with 10MB Level 3 cache and at least 8 GB of memory (the more the better). This will give you plenty of power. Depending on whether you will work with software such as Photoshop, InDesign etc., you might opt for a PC with a decent video card.

Regards

José Henrique Lamensdorf
José Henrique Lamensdorf  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 18:57
English to Portuguese
+ ...
In memoriam
Find a computer guru among your friends Jan 10, 2014