Thread poster: Iouri Belooussov
Iouri Belooussov
Iouri Belooussov  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 07:37
English to Russian
Feb 17, 2004

Dear all!

Could anyone help to find or suggest any mean to count words in AutoCAD?

Appreciate any help

Thank you

Tobi
Tobi
Local time: 06:37
English to German
+ ...
Unfortunately, no Feb 18, 2004

Dear Iouri,

As far as I know, there is no way to do a word count in AutoCAD. I do it manually.
Maybe someone knows a workaround, such as a text export routine. I'll watch the thread.

Best regards,

Tobi

Olga Judina
Olga Judina  Identity Verified
Latvia
Latvian to Russian
+ ...
Try charging per sheet or applying hourly rate Feb 18, 2004

I did AutoCAD translation only once as a freelancer (I'm an in-house translator now and word count doesn't really matter), and I charged per sheet. After choosing and doing one 'average small' and one 'average large' drawing I was able to set price per sheet (I was client's only chance and didn't have to give my rates upfront). Of course, some of the drawings had more words, but some almost none, so on average it was OK.
Another thing to take into account is whether the customer needs draw
... See more
I did AutoCAD translation only once as a freelancer (I'm an in-house translator now and word count doesn't really matter), and I charged per sheet. After choosing and doing one 'average small' and one 'average large' drawing I was able to set price per sheet (I was client's only chance and didn't have to give my rates upfront). Of course, some of the drawings had more words, but some almost none, so on average it was OK.