Sara Ferreira
Sara Ferreira
Portugal
Local time: 13:11
English to Portuguese
+ ...
May 22, 2014

Hi everyone.

I was asked to translate a paper document, which was scanned and sent to me in pdf format.
It has text parts, as well as images and even hand written parts. I'm supposed to translate the text parts, but keeping the page exactly as it is, with the other elements. Is this possible? This is my first time dealing with a situation like this. Can anyone help?

Thanks

Per Magnus
Per Magnus  Identity Verified
Local time: 14:11
English to Norwegian
Translating pdf documents May 22, 2014

There are hundreds of threads discussing this problem, why don’t you try this google search:

proz translating pdf

Sergei Leshchinsky
Sergei Leshchinsky  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 15:11
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
/// May 22, 2014

To translate a PDF document, you have to extract the text and images first. Then, you have to set up all the text and images anew, and only then you start translating.
It is the way people work in the 21-st cetrury

1) PDF
2) Optical Character Recognition
3) Formating of the source
4) Translation
5) Proofreading
6) Final formatting of the target

J Gallagher (X)
J Gallagher (X)  Identity Verified
Finland
English to Finnish
+ ...
Download a trial version of Abbyy PDF Transformer May 22, 2014

Select the correct language and use a setting to keep the images. If the quality of the scanned pdf is good, you can achieve fairly good results. Likely need to fix this and that. Abbyy does not add those nasty line breaks after every row.

I'm sure there are other good tools, too. At least this one is not too expensive, a good investment.

Nikita Kobrin
Nikita Kobrin  Identity Verified
Lithuania
Member (2010)
English to Russian
+ ...
Client should pay extra May 22, 2014

Sergei Leshchinsky wrote: