DTP software: useful for translators or not?
Thread poster: Alvaro Pavié
Alvaro Pavié
Alvaro Pavié
Chile
Local time: 16:07
English to Spanish
+ ...
May 24, 2019

Greetings,

I'm a Chilean English-Spanish translator beginning to work as a freelancer. At the moment I'm using OmegaT for my projects and it has not disappointed.

However, I'm aware that DTP software specializes in creating page layouts for a variety of purposes, and the one I want to use right now is Scribus (since it's free).

Because I want to provide my clients with translated documents having the same layout as the source document, I'd like to know if
... See more
Greetings,

I'm a Chilean English-Spanish translator beginning to work as a freelancer. At the moment I'm using OmegaT for my projects and it has not disappointed.

However, I'm aware that DTP software specializes in creating page layouts for a variety of purposes, and the one I want to use right now is Scribus (since it's free).

Because I want to provide my clients with translated documents having the same layout as the source document, I'd like to know if it's a good idea to use DTP software or not, and if it is a good idead, how do I go about it?

Thanks!
Collapse

Rolf Keller
Rolf Keller
Germany
Local time: 22:07
English to German
The client's workflow has priority May 24, 2019

Alvaro Pavié wrote:

Because I want to provide my clients with translated documents having the same layout as the source document

The most important question is: What does the client plan to do with the file you deliver to him?

If the client plans to do some editing (or modifying/amending next year), a PDF file is unsuitable. If you deliver a file in a proprietary format (e. g. *.sla created by Scribus), the client might not be able to open that file.

Even clients who want to engage a printing service often are happy with a reasonable formatted Word file. They just edit this file and afterwards convert it to PDF.

[Bearbeitet am 2019-05-24 09:41 GMT]