Thread poster: Ida Lodin
Ida Lodin
Ida Lodin
Sweden
Local time: 01:00
English to Swedish
+ ...
Aug 25, 2019

Hey guys! I've tried to find a similar thread but haven't found any real clear answers.

How many minutes of video do you normally translate per day? Is it reasonable to plan on managing one episode of a little over 20 minutes (sitcom) a day? I'm new to subtitling (but I've have education and experience of other types of translations, so not new to the whole translations thing), which is why I'm trying to figure this out.

So what do you experienced subtitlers say?
... See more
Hey guys! I've tried to find a similar thread but haven't found any real clear answers.

How many minutes of video do you normally translate per day? Is it reasonable to plan on managing one episode of a little over 20 minutes (sitcom) a day? I'm new to subtitling (but I've have education and experience of other types of translations, so not new to the whole translations thing), which is why I'm trying to figure this out.

So what do you experienced subtitlers say?

[Edited at 2019-08-25 07:14 GMT]
Collapse

Jan Truper
Jan Truper  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2016)
English to German
... Aug 25, 2019

Ida Lodin wrote:

How many minutes of video do you normally translate per day? Is it reasonable to plan on managing one episode of a little over 20 minutes (sitcom) a day?

Provided there's a decent timed template, I translate 30 - 60 minutes a day (English to German).

Unfairly and unfortunately, subtitle translation is usually remunerated per video runtime minutes, not per word count. There can be vast discrepancies in the amount of work you have to put in, depending on the type of show.
Comedy Stand-up Specials or Reality TV series often have wall-to-wall talking, which means a lot more work compared to an old-school Western, for example.