Tax season is coming, how our US freelance translator do tax?
Thread poster: Xiangqun (Shawn) Ye
Xiangqun (Shawn) Ye
Xiangqun (Shawn) Ye  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 19:42
English to Chinese
+ ...
Feb 8, 2021

Hello, fellow translator, I am a new freelance translator who live in the US and have permanent residency. Last year was my first year as freelance and got some real money, part of which come from abroad such as Italy, France etc. I am wondering how do I do tax?
any advice will be appreciated. Thanks

Gina Centanni
Gina Centanni  Identity Verified
United States
Member (2008)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Do-it-yourself or tax preparer - it depends. Feb 9, 2021

The most important thing you need to know is that the IRS wants its share of any income you earn anywhere in the world. You'll need to convert foreign-earned income to US dollars. Make sure to use the official exchange rates as they are always more advantageous to the taxpayer. You'll find them on t... See more
The most important thing you need to know is that the IRS wants its share of any income you earn anywhere in the world. You'll need to convert foreign-earned income to US dollars. Make sure to use the official exchange rates as they are always more advantageous to the taxpayer. You'll find them on this website: https://www.irs.gov/individuals/international-taxpayers/yearly-average-currency-exchange-rates.

If your taxes are fairly simple you can prepare them yourself using programs like TurboTax, which walks you through the process and costs about $150. If your situation is more complex, i.e., S-Corp, investments, foreign-owned assets, you may want to hire a tax preparer. It really depends on the complexity.

I hope this helps.
Collapse

Xiangqun (Shawn) Ye
United States
English to Chinese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
thanks Feb 9, 2021

Thank you for your answer, Gina, I appreciate it.