New to Trados 6.5 - cannot find termbase
Thread poster: fuchsia
fuchsia
fuchsia
Local time: 14:48
English to Chinese
+ ...
Feb 25, 2005

I am new to Trados. I just installed Trados 6.5 Freelance and MultiTerm 2003 and I did the tutotials. But I could not create a new termbase.

I created a new (empty) TM file under File/New with EN/CH as my language pair. Under Options/Term Recognition Options, I selected MultiTErm iX, but all I saw was the Local Sample that came with Trados and its 4 language (EN, FR, GE, SP). I did not see my TM file and my target language. The dongle was attached and Term Recognition was on.... See more
I am new to Trados. I just installed Trados 6.5 Freelance and MultiTerm 2003 and I did the tutotials. But I could not create a new termbase.

I created a new (empty) TM file under File/New with EN/CH as my language pair. Under Options/Term Recognition Options, I selected MultiTErm iX, but all I saw was the Local Sample that came with Trados and its 4 language (EN, FR, GE, SP). I did not see my TM file and my target language. The dongle was attached and Term Recognition was on.

What did I miss? Any advice on the correct procedure will be greatly appreciated.

Terri

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2005-02-25 21:58]
Collapse

Ralf Lemster
Ralf Lemster  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 23:48
English to German
+ ...
TM vs. termbase Feb 25, 2005

Hi Terri,
I've moved the topic to Trados Support.

I created a new (empty) TM file under File/New with EN/CH as my language pair. Under Options/Term Recognition Options, I selected MultiTErm iX, but all I saw was the Local Sample that came with Trados and its 4 language (EN, FR, GE, SP).

You need to distinguish a translation memory (which contains segments - terms, phrases or similar units) from a termbase (which contains terminology).

To use a termbase in Workbench, you need to create one in MultiTerm.

HTH, Ralf

fuchsia
fuchsia
English to Chinese
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER