Jeff Whittaker
Jeff Whittaker  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 11:33
Spanish to English
+ ...
Feb 22, 2016

From Steve Vitek's Blog:

https://patenttranslator.wordpress.com/2016/02/21/there-are-many-ways-to-make-people-work-for-free/

"...The push to reclassify translators as [machine translation] “post-processors” is thus nothing but a clever attempt at labor theft. Will translators fall for this trick just as they
... See more
From Steve Vitek's Blog:

https://patenttranslator.wordpress.com/2016/02/21/there-are-many-ways-to-make-people-work-for-free/

"...The push to reclassify translators as [machine translation] “post-processors” is thus nothing but a clever attempt at labor theft. Will translators fall for this trick just as they fell for the CAT trick?..."

[Edited at 2016-02-22 14:33 GMT]
Collapse

Cecile T.
Cecile T.  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 16:33
English to French
Brilliant article Feb 22, 2016

While I am quite new in this business (as a freelance translator), and would be the first to fall prey to unethical practices benefiting opportunistic agencies , a lot of what I read in this blog article sounds very pertinent and simply brilliantly put. It coincides with what I have heard in person by some translators I met.

It is also a bit worrying that if we are not careful, future software will replace paid human labour, unless unpredictability is high like in creative or fast-c
... See more
While I am quite new in this business (as a freelance translator), and would be the first to fall prey to unethical practices benefiting opportunistic agencies , a lot of what I read in this blog article sounds very pertinent and simply brilliantly put. It coincides with what I have heard in person by some translators I met.

It is also a bit worrying that if we are not careful, future software will replace paid human labour, unless unpredictability is high like in creative or fast-changing environments.
Collapse

Patrick Porter