Thread poster: Jeff Skinner
Jeff Skinner
Jeff Skinner  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 15:37
Swedish to English
+ ...
Mar 20, 2016

Hello, everyone! I've been mulling this idea over in a general sense for a few months now and have finally decided to get some outside input on whether it's worth proceeding with, and if so, how.

I've run across a multi-volume historical work originally published in Russian that I think would be of interest to a somewhat broad audience, and would like to translate it into English as a side project in my spare time. The situation as I know it regarding the works:

• The author is deceased - in fact, the last volume was published posthumously.
  • The entire series was published within the last 30 years, so presumably they are still under copyright in Russia.
  • Parts of the work - but not the entire series - have previously been translated into English and published by a smaller, specialized publishing house.

What I'd been mulling over is trying a crowd-funded project through something like Patreon, where I'd publish a section every two weeks or so, collect donations from interested readers, and then use the money towards something like self-publication of the books as they were completed.

With that said: do I need permission for this from the copyright holder of the Russian works? What potential conflicts might I have with the publishers of the existing English translations? If it's only a matter of avoiding plagiarism, how would I go about gathering iron-clad proof it's my own work?

I'm an American citizen living and working in Sweden, so I would presume there are tax and VAT rules for donations of this type that would apply. Any other Swedes out there who happen to see this and have tips on where I could read up on all that, do please speak up!

Thanks in advance for everyone's time and help. I'm excited about actually trying to do this; I hope it's not an impossible dream.
Collapse

deryaun (X)