Setting up a business website – how to handle testimonials/past clients with 90% agency work?
Thread poster: Sylvie A. Martlew
Sylvie A. Martlew
Sylvie A. Martlew
United Kingdom
Local time: 20:08
German to English
+ ...
Oct 9, 2016

Hello,

I'm currently in the process of setting up my business website, as I've been translating full-time for several years and it's about time I get this done; I also want to attract more direct clients. Judging from other translators' sites, it seems that a listing of past clients and a sizable list of testimonials is a pretty essential component.

While I have had a couple of direct clients (who will probably be happy to give me a testimonial and be named), most of my
... See more
Hello,

I'm currently in the process of setting up my business website, as I've been translating full-time for several years and it's about time I get this done; I also want to attract more direct clients. Judging from other translators' sites, it seems that a listing of past clients and a sizable list of testimonials is a pretty essential component.

While I have had a couple of direct clients (who will probably be happy to give me a testimonial and be named), most of my work comes from agencies. Accordingly, I have actually translated for everything from start-ups to huge international corporations to governments -- but I am uncertain to what extent I am allowed to disclose the identity of any final clients on my own website. The various NDAs I have reviewed seem to suggest that I cannot name clients of the agencies. I'm sure I can get great testimonies from my project managers, but that still leaves me without a list of clients to put on display.

Any recommendations on how to populate this important section without violating any agreements? Or should I just leave it out until I've had more directs?

Any input welcome thanks.
Collapse

Dan Lucas
Dan Lucas  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Member (2014)
Japanese to English