John Colangelo  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:16
Member (2006)
Arabic to English
+ ...
Feb 27, 2023

Dear Colleagues,

I've been using a Mac since around 2018, and I have never been happier.

I also have a year subscription of Microsoft Office 365 and one of the features is Microsoft Defender at no extra cost.

The question is for my colleagues who use Mac. Would it hurt to use Microsoft Defender on my Mac or is it just a waste of space.

Yours,

John

P.S. Check out the Forbes article on the topic. I read it but I am
... See more
Dear Colleagues,

I also have a year subscription of Microsoft Office 365 and one of the features is Microsoft Defender at no extra cost.

The question is for my colleagues who use Mac. Would it hurt to use Microsoft Defender on my Mac or is it just a waste of space.

Yours,

John

P.S. Check out the Forbes article on the topic. I read it but I am still undecided.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/barrycollins/2022/07/02/microsoft-defender-for-mac-is-this-some-kind-of-joke/?sh=4ba8c3bc1b5f
Collapse

Wolfgang Schoene
Wolfgang Schoene  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 11:16
Member (2007)
English to German
+ ...
Defender Feb 27, 2023

John Colangelo wrote:

Dear Colleagues,

Yours,

John

P.S. Check out the Forbes article on the topic. I read it but I am still undecided.

https://www.forbes.com/sites/barrycollins/2022/07/02/microsoft-defender-for-mac-is-this-some-kind-of-joke/?sh=4ba8c3bc1b5f

Working on a Mac, too, since 1984
My system: iMac 27" 2019, Monterey, Parallels, Windows 11, and, yes, I uninstalled Kaspersky IS and installed Microsoft Defender for Windows, and on the Mac side I use Avira. Everything works fine, so far.

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 10:16
Member (2008)
Italian to English
No Feb 27, 2023

The Mac operating system is like a fortress. Nothing can get in that doesn't pass a series of checks that are built into the system (which is constantly checked and is periodically updated).