sweet_rain
sweet_rain
Local time: 21:11
English to Italian
+ ...
Nov 26, 2007

Hi there!

i'm new here and i'm new to the world of translation too to be honest! ^_^

i need to align different text from a same language but I tried with Trados and it wouldnt let me do it.

Can you suggest me any other CAT program?

There are 5 different edition of a same text, one for each year that the text has been published. They want me to align them all and see if there are any differences.

thanks!

Eli

Buck
Buck
Netherlands
Dutch to English
A suggestion Nov 26, 2007

I've never heard of aligning texts in the same language in Trados. Why not compare each of the documents to the final version. There is an option for showing changes on screen and printing changes in Word.

Jørgen Madsen
Jørgen Madsen  Identity Verified
English to Danish
+ ...
Use the Compare documents feature in Word Nov 26, 2007

If you have the documents as Word files or can cut and paste them into Word, the easiest (if not the only) way is to use the Compare documents function in Word.

AFAIK, you can't use CAT tools for that.

Jørgen

Lori Cirefice
Lori Cirefice  Identity Verified
France
French to English
Try this website Nov 26, 2007

www.writeboard.com

It's useful for comparing documents and highlights anything that is different from version to version

Igor Kmitowski
Igor Kmitowski  Identity Verified
Poland
Member (2016)
English to Polish
+ ...
Cafetran alignment Nov 26, 2007

Cafetran lets you align any two text easily. Just open the two documents, join (synchronize) their views, and go ahead with the workflow as described in the help.

sweet_rain
sweet_rain
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
thanks Nov 26, 2007

thanks alot!

E

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
You need a diff tool Nov 26, 2007

sweet_rain wrote: