General questions on Trados concerning updates and costs
Thread poster: trad500
trad500
trad500
Local time: 08:45
English to French
Jun 9, 2005

Hello,

I'm seriously considering buying Trados, but I have a few questions I don't seem to find an answer to...
How often do the makers of Trados release new version? Is it critical to have the most recent version?
How much are these updates once available?

Any answer to this would be very helpful.

Thanks to all

Marie

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2005-06-09 15:18]

Peter Linton (X)
Peter Linton (X)  Identity Verified
Swedish to English
+ ...
http://www.translationzone.com/ Jun 9, 2005

That website may answer some of your questions, at least on price.

I have been using Trados for 3 years, and my impression is that new versions come about one a year or less. Others may know more precisely.

It is not critical to have the latest version, but each release has had additions that I have found useful and well worthwhile, and Version 7 (imminent) also has some attractive features.

Bear in mind you need to invest time as well as money to get the b
... See more
That website may answer some of your questions, at least on price.

I have been using Trados for 3 years, and my impression is that new versions come about one a year or less. Others may know more precisely.

It is not critical to have the latest version, but each release has had additions that I have found useful and well worthwhile, and Version 7 (imminent) also has some attractive features.

Bear in mind you need to invest time as well as money to get the best out of Trados (or indeed any CAT).
Collapse

Philippe Etienne
Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 09:45
English to French
Schedule your purchases Jun 9, 2005