Nadine Michelle Ducca  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 19:48
Member (2021)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Jul 8, 2021

Hi everyone!

I became a freelance translator on June 1 and, honestly, I've been very lucky because I immediately made several great contacts through Proz and have worked nonstop since then, mainly in subtitling. Yesterday morning, I delivered a task... and today I don't have any work to do.

The rational part of my brain tells me it's fine, I know more work is coming soon because the client told me so. Plus, I'm just starting out so I need to get established. But the mor
... See more
Hi everyone!

I became a freelance translator on June 1 and, honestly, I've been very lucky because I immediately made several great contacts through Proz and have worked nonstop since then, mainly in subtitling. Yesterday morning, I delivered a task... and today I don't have any work to do.

The rational part of my brain tells me it's fine, I know more work is coming soon because the client told me so. Plus, I'm just starting out so I need to get established. But the more emotional part of my brain is freaking out about the future: "what if I don't get any work this month?", "what about next month, next year???" Things like that.

So, it's only been a month since I'm freelancing and I'd like to know if you have any general advice on how to manage these ups and downs or if you can share your experiences. I'm aware that I'm probably exaggerating and everything will be okay if I keep at it, but I'd like to hear from more experienced professionals.

Thank you!
Collapse

Robert Rietvelt
Robert Rietvelt  Identity Verified
Member (2006)
Spanish to Dutch
+ ...
Enjoy it Jul 8, 2021

Nadine Michelle Ducca wrote:

Hi everyone!